Online 2 Day Course: Participation Across Differences

  • January 19, 2022
  • (EST)
  • January 20, 2022
  • (EST)
  • 2 sessions
  • January 19, 2022, 2:30 PM 5:30 PM (EST)
  • January 20, 2022, 11:30 AM 2:30 PM (EST)
  • Online
  • 16

Registration

  • You must be logged in to access this rate
  • You must be logged in to access this rate
  • Please contact info@iap2usa.org for the registration code.

Registration is closed

Two 3-hour sessions

Session 1-  January 19

2:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. Eastern

1:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. Central

12:30 p.m. -3:30 p.m. Mountain

11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. Pacific

Session 2-  January 20

11:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. Eastern

10:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. Central

9:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Mountain

8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. Pacific

Description:

A diversity of perspectives is key to finding creative solutions for complex problems that impact communities.  Including an array of voices, especially those affected by decisions, is necessary for building trust and achieving sustainable outcomes.  In this workshop participants will learn how social identities and other differences between people impact meetings. You’ll also learn how to create an inclusive meeting environment for all and how to avoid creating barriers to participation.

Participants will:

  • Understand and discuss how social identities and interpersonal dynamics impact meetings and can lead to inequitable participation. 

  • Discover how our individual social identities impact how we facilitate.

  • Learn how to create an inclusive meeting environment for all, including how to avoid creating barriers to participation.

  • Learn and apply techniques to avoid making assumptions, jumping to conclusions, or dismissing diverse perspectives. 

  • Learn and practice techniques for creating space for participants to see each other across our differences and perspectives. 

  • Practice facilitation strategies that guide a diverse group toward their desired outcomes when the group becomes stuck.

    Cost: $265 member, $355 non-member, $175 student member

    *PLEASE NOTE: Members must be logged in to iap2usa.org to receive the member rate.

    *International IAP2 members require a code to register. Contact info@iap2usa.org for it.

    — Cancellation and Substitution policy —

    Trainers

    Connected Realities 


    Joy Lujan

    Joy is the founder of Connected Realities, LLC. Before dedicating herself full-time to collaboration consulting in 2016, Joy had 17 years of experience as a community planner, facilitator, mediator, and trainer while working for the National Park Service. Her passion for authentic public engagement underscores her deep commitment to community dialogue and public processes where people hear each other, understand each other, and find ways to work together effectively. Her experience working within all levels of city, county, state, and federal government agencies as well as community groups and nonprofit organizations, has resulted in success in reaching group consensus on contentious projects. She has a Bachelor’s degree in Environmental Design from the University of Colorado, Boulder and a Master’s degree in Urban and Regional Planning from the University of Colorado, Denver. Her primary focus is to help individuals and groups translate individual power into collective action through effective collaboration.

    Le'alani S. Boykin, AICP


    Le`alani (Kanaka `Ōiwi) is a community planner and collaboration specialist fascinated with people processes and human potential. She empowers stakeholders and promotes useful input for community planning & design projects and community resource programs through careful process design and facilitation. Since 2008, she has provided meeting facilitation, participatory planning, capacity building, strategic planning, and training services to local, regional, and federal governments, nonprofits, and community-based organizations.  She uses empathy, mindfulness, and visualizations to help groups with diverse learning styles to work together toward a common goal.  Le`alani holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Environmental Design and a Master’s Degree in Urban and Regional Planning from the University of Colorado.  She is a certified planner of the American Institute of Certified Planners and a Senior Fellow of the Environmental Leadership Program.

     


    Copyright ©2010-2017 IAP2 USA. All rights reserved.